Using digiCamControl as a standalone library

lokatz

Post by lokatz » Fri Sep 09, 2016 5:29 pm

Your solution is very powerful but also complex when trying to use it as a standalone library. I'm looking to use it with my own WPF UI (only for Nikon DSLRs) but am struggling to get started. I admit I am not very experienced with C#, which doesn't help. The CameraControl.Devices.Example sample code helps with Capture and LiveView but unfortunately does not give clues how to access other camera parameters and events. Appreciate any guidance here, especially on these two questions:

1. How can I detect and respond to camera events, such as changes in shutter speed or ISO settings done right on the camera itself, without binding WPF controls to PropertyChangedNotifiers? Say, the user changes the JPEG compression level on the camera from Fine to Normal: I assume the camera would send a CONST_PROP_CompressionLevel notification - but how can I catch it? Is there an event notifier method I could hook into? How would I do that?

2. In trying to connect to a Nikon camera with a WU-1A WiFi adapter, I looked at what you did in GetIpWnd and tried to extract what I need to connect directly to my camera. I thought I could simply compress it to this:

Code: Select all

try
    {
        IWifiDeviceProvider wifiDeviceProvider;
        ServiceProvider.DeviceManager.AddDevice(wifiDeviceProvider.Connect("192.168.1.1"));
    }
    catch (Exception exception)
    {
        Log.Error("Unable to connect to WiFi device", exception);

}
but that doesn't work because wifiDeviceProvider.Connect is null. How do I need to instantiate it? It seems ServiceProvider.DeviceManager.WifiDeviceProviders is a list holding all available wireless connections, so I thought about using that one but found it was also empty.

Advertisment

BStrauss3

Re: Using digiCamControl as a standalone library

Post by BStrauss3 » Mon Sep 12, 2016 6:34 pm